Skip to content

Shaken not Stirred

February 25, 2011

I was sitting at a Martini Bar in downtown Chicago – black over the top black lace Max Azaria Jacket, tailored short skirt and 5″ black Gucci suede heels – hair done, nails done, everything did – REALLY fancy. The bar tender lets me know that a gentleman at the far left of the bar would like to buy me a drink. He comes over, grey tailored suit, perfect edge up, and with a smile to compliment and tells me that he had to buy me a drink because he liked my ‘package’. Our conversation went on for a while but it got me thinking – What makes up our package and how are people able do judge us solely from what they see? Is it the fact that I walk with my head a little higher? Is it my clothing? Is it the company I keep? The fact that I am able to ask for my Martini extra dirty, shaken, not stirred and with extra olives? Is it my hair?

They say that the first impression is the best impression. Funnily enough, I’m certain that I am perceived many times by the hairstyle that I have decided to rock for the moment. I have done everything from the Rihanna funky crop to the Kim Kardashian middle part, all in a span of a month. When I have braids every Prince of Zumunda, power to the people, vintage tee shirt wearing brother wants to come up to me to tell me that I’m a ‘Queen’. When I am Rihanna-ed out, every Beats by Dr. Dre toting, take my card ‘cause I’m the CEO of my own production company, guy wants to holla. That night, I just happened to be tailored – middle part, La La waves, hair down to my mid back – hair perfectly undetectable.

The point is, whoever we decide to be on any given day, we need to be the whole package. When I started SONOMA Hair Collection, I did it out of a need, particularly for my girls in the Caribbean and the UK who struggle to find quality hair that would have people dying for an opportunity to get up close to do the notorious ‘weave check’ (we will talk more about that later). We deserve to be able to change our look, and to do it with class and style just like any celebrity would without worrying about hair looking plastic, shiny, shedding or that horrible birds nest that happens in the back once the humidity hits your hair. (guuuurl)

I will be blogging ,  posting videos, pictures and guest columns on how to wear the various options that SONOMA hair has to offer, discussing our product – how to prep and care for the hair, as well as how to be fab for the season, all while maintaining your healthy natural hair! We are head turners ladies – Lets do this in style!

MISS SONOMA

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Chloe permalink
    March 9, 2011 2:13 pm

    I can REALLY identify with this post! Why can’t I be a celebrity in my head right? I’m so excited about this brand and can’t wait to see what it has to offer. Thanks Miss Sonoma! Island girls rock!

  2. March 18, 2011 10:15 pm

    Thanks Chloe. More to come!

Leave a Reply

