Skip to content

Royal Tresses

May 2, 2011

The Royal Wedding was a grandiose affair. The pomp, the glamour, the 21st century fairytale incarnate – I loved it all! Our newest Princess Katherine was a classic beauty in her lace McQueen dress and her Prince in royal uniform was handsome. The best part for me was the sights in the audience. The world’s royal pulled out their best in amazing hats, tailored suits and 6” heels! Loved it!

I do have to say that I woke up at 6:00 AM to watch the ceremony – and as you each get to know me, you will know that I am not a morning person! So, as I watched the first half of the ceremony with one eye open, I have to say, that I wasn’t wowed by our dear beloved princess’ hair! At that hour, I wanted to be knocked off of my feet. She’s a princess after all, I was praying that she would channel Audrey Hepburn in My Fair Lady hair or do something couture and very Disney princess. What we got was very (perhaps intentionally) understated, hair.

Of course, I started thinking of all of the FABULOUS hair styles I would pull out if I was a Princess and had every stylist, and resources available at my disposal. Here are a few of my favorites.

My #1 and Favorite is the Audrey Hepburn. I think this hairstyle screams royalty. Unless you have thick hair that falls mid back, you will need hair extensions added to achieve this look. SONOMA Clip-ins are an option for the addition as well as our Relaxed texture wefts and Indian Remy wefts. Hair should be sewed in a circular pattern leaving your edges and front out to create the buffont. Your Stylist can then create large pin curls. The extra hair will give the volume needed to create this style.  

How Royal!?!

 

My # 2 would be the loosely side swept side pony tail. SONOMA Natural wavy hair would already give a natural wave and needed volume for this style.  A more defined wave could also be achieved by wrapping hair around the curling iron which would leave it in an ‘s’ pattern. Sweeping it to one side and securing it with bobby pins gives you this effortless romantic look which is perfect for dresses that have a low or no neckline .

 

My # 3 would be a side French roll with a front swoop, worn by supermodel Tyra Banks. This look can be achieved by using SONOMA Clip-in hair at the front for the swoop if you do not have enough hair to achieve this look. Hair is combed to one side of the hair and wrapped tightly and secured with bobbi pins in the side French roll. This look is classic and will have you looking Royal.

 

My #4 is a curly and messy back sweep which would also be perfect for a more casual  or perhaps a beach wedding. This gorgeous tussled look can be achieved by using SONOMA Virgin Curly hair that has naturally loose curls. Hair is loosely pinned to the back and curls are pulled out. I can picture this hair with a Grecian style dress. Love!

Summer is here and this is also the advent of wedding and prom season. We may not be Princess Katherine, but we have no excuse not have princess hair.

Contact us. We’d be happy to help.

MISS SONOMA

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

