Skip to content

Rain, Sun, Snow or Blow… and still Fab!

May 18, 2011

It’s been raining and cold in New York City. While we should be wearing color blocked outfits with matching chunky shoes, we are busy slipping on our flats so that we don’t twist our ankles running through the puddles on the way to the subway. Where is the sun? I prematurely had my summer hair installed last week. I opted for SONOMA Indian Curl 20” hair. I planned to be cute with my bouncy curls and middle part. Fast forward to today, and that fantasy has turned into a rainy nightmare. The good news? My summer hair’s versatility has actually become useful. Let me explain.

Yesterday I went to a networking brunch at Red Rooster in Harlem. The event sponsored by Belvedere was for young movers and shakers and I opted for a tailored Green dress from Zara and some heels. My large curly hair didn’t fit the look so I divided my hair into sections and blow dried each section. I then took a ceramic hot iron and pressed out the hair. I was left with a middle part with smooth bra strap length hair.

An example of Indian Curly hair worn curly and straight. Versatile!

The secret to pressing out curly hair and it remaining fabulous is a humidity blocker. As you can imagine, curly hair just needs a little humidity or water to touch it for it to frizz and to ease back into the curl. (Ladies who live in high humidity countries like Bermuda, take note). I personally like Mizani Humidity Resistant Mist. I spray this on each section before I press it out and voila, my hair is shielded from the humidity.  5 Belvedere Bloody Marys later and some serious conversation and my hair was still intact.

Mizani Humidity Resistant Mist

 

This morning I woke up and it was raining cats and dogs. It was that kind of rain that makes you want to turn over in your bed and put your alarm on snooze. I had some important errands to run and the thought of trying to keep my hair straight in this weather would just be silly. When I showered, I wet the actual hair. I was careful not to wet my scalp as braids that are washed too often can become matted. I then used a scoop of Mango butter and distributed it through my hair. Finally to define my curls, I used a method called plopping or plunking. This is when you use an old tee shirt to wrap your hair tight enough to keep the curls pressed against your scalp. When you are ready to take the tee shirt off, your curls have dried slightly tighter and more defined. I found a good video that shows you how to plop your hair. Fast forward to 3:49 if you want to skip to the actual instruction on how to plop your hair.

I braved that rain, flats on, and curls intact!

If versatility in the rain, sun, snow or blow is what you are looking for, we can help! Contact me at consultant@sonomahair.com so that we can talk about options.

MISS SONOMA

One Comment leave one →
  1. Court permalink
    May 30, 2011 1:44 am

    love that you can wear it straight as well. awesome

Leave a Reply

