Skip to content

Hair ‘Dressing’ – Hair Recipes

July 6, 2011

I have a confession. The older I get, is the more domestic that I am trying to be. I am in this phase now where I have stopped using my oven to house my winter sweaters (too many clothes + NY apt = Desperate!) The catch is trying to be Betty Crocker WHILE trying to watch my weight, which is proving to be a losing battle. I end up with a fridge full of leftovers and random ingredients that are just taking up space. After stepping on the scale and noticing that my weight had gone up (again), I decided to hang up my apron and to never enter another Whole Foods Supermarket – Ever…In fact, I didn’t even want food in my house! (Extreme – but necessary)

 In efforts to clear my fridge, I began to think, why not go online to see what kind of great homemade treatments I could use for my hair. Ive just taken out my 2 month install and am wearing clip ins. I plan to treat my hair like royalty for the next month by treating, trimming and pampering it until all nutrients are revived. After searching online, I found some great recipes … for my hair. It’s a win-win, recession proof way of treating our hair, using true organic products right out of our fridges and cupboards. Ive tried some of these concoctions, and they really work.

So without further ado ladies, pull out your bowls, mixers, and check out these recipes:

 If your hair needs increased shine

Mash a banana, add 1 tablespoon of honey and mix. Wet hair with lukewarm water. Apply the mix all over hair. Put a shower cap on and cover with a towel (warmed in the tumble dryer even better). Leave on for an hour and then shampoo and rinse out.

For dry and brittle hair

¼ cup of olive oil 1 egg Mix together and apply. Cover with plastic wrap or shower cap and then a warmed towel. Leave for 30 minutes to 1 hour. Shampoo as usual.

 Dandruff Treatment

Boil 7 tablespoons dried thyme in 2 cups water for 10 minutes. Strain and cool. Pour 1/2 mixture over clean, damp hair. Massage into scalp, do not rinse. Use the rest of the solution another day.

Yogurt Hair Mask

Beat 1 egg white until foamy. Add to 6 tablespoons plain natural yogurt. Apply to hair in small sections at a time. Leave in for 15 minutes. Rinse.

To add volume

In a bowl, mix one egg yolk, a half cup of honey, two tablespoons of olive oil, and two small, ripe avocados. Apply the concoction to the entire head and leave on for one to two hours, until hard. Shampoo and condition as usual.

Coconut Protein Treatment for breaking hair

Combine 2 eggs, 3 tbsp. coconut milk, 2 tbsp. honey, 2 tbsp. olive oil and 1 tbsp. vanilla extract in a bowl. Mix the ingredients with a fork until blended well. Wet your hair with warm water. Apply the mixture directly to your hair, taking the time to massage it into your roots. Allow the coconut protein mixture to set for 30 minutes. Rinse the hair treatment out thoroughly, and shampoo your hair as usual.

 

Amazing right? I thought that I had hung up my apron for good but it is back in action –  but only to provide amazing results for my hair (not added inches to my thighs!) We always love to hear your feedback and results.

Contact us at consultant@sonomahair.com!

Happy Cooking!

 MISS SONOMA

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

